Giving In

I walked blindly into facebook this weekend.

I’m not sure what to think of it yet.  There are more people–which is positive–but I don’t know what to think of the presentation.  It doesn’t seem to lend itself to actual writing, (For whatever it’s worth, I want to write!) and the interactions are limited and superficial, from what I can tell.  (No offense, Zuckerberg and the rest of the world)  I know I’m not up-to-date with how it works yet, and the situation will likely improve, but it’s very scatterbrained, and already my timeline is filling up with political posts and stuff I have no desire to read.  I do like the people, though.

If there’s a way to do Facebook more than superficially, I’m totally in, whatever that would look like.  Until then, I don’t know.  It feels like more of the very thing I’ve been fighting against for four years.  I found out I couldn’t do relationships with girls well when the entire business remains essentially superficial, (Or well in general?  There’s a case to be made.) and so far that’s all the relationships have ever amounted to.  I catch myself avoiding chit-chat some days, because it feels like I’m cheating people out of something.  I don’t want a ton of surface-level relationships, I just want a few meaningful ones.  (Apologies, this is me being demanding)  I would prefer the concept of facebook to be less manic.

But no griping until an actual effort is made; it’d be a shame to hate it and find out I’m still the real problem.

  1. Leave a comment

Leave a comment